AGM Leadership Biographies


Perry-AasnessPerry Aasness has served as Executive Director for the Minnesota AgriGrowth Council since July 2013. Perry has a wide and diverse background in agriculture, and grew up on a livestock and grain farm near Wendell, Minnesota.

Prior to joining AgriGrowth, Perry served as Executive Director for the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation. His previous experience includes serving as Vice President, Producer and Industry Relations with the National Pork Board; Minnesota State Executive Director with the USDA Farm Service Agency; Assistant and Deputy Commissioner with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture; Executive Director with the Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association; and on the staff of former U.S. Senator Rod Grams.

David-PreislerDavid Preisler has served as Executive Director of the Minnesota Pork Producers Association (MPPA) and Minnesota Pork Board (MPB) for more than 20 years, where he oversees projects associated with the two organizations that are carried out by the seven member staff at the Mankato-based MPPA/MPB office.

As MPPA Executive Director, Preisler advocates for pork producers and educates public policy makers, as well as other audiences, on pork production and its value. His legislative work takes place at the local, state and national levels.

As the MPB Executive Director, Preisler oversees the management of educational, promotional and research programs that are funded with mandatory Pork Checkoff dollars.

Prior to becoming MPPA and MPB executive director, Preisler worked for the University of Minnesota Extension Service and as an agricultural education teacher. He graduated from North Dakota State University in Fargo, and experienced farming firsthand while growing up on a diversified livestock and crop farm in northwestern Minnesota.

Steve-OlsonSteve Olson serves as the Executive Director of Minnesota Turkey Growers Association (MTGA), the Minnesota Turkey Research and Promotion Council, Chicken and Egg Association of Minnesota, and the Midwest Poultry Federation. He holds Bachelor of Science degrees in Agricultural Education and Agricultural Economics from the University of Minnesota.

Prior to MTGA, he served as General Manager of Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI) serving 22 counties in southwestern Minnesota. In this position, he worked with entrepreneurs, existing businesses and commodity groups on new technology and new product ideas that add value to agricultural commodities.

From 1992-1997, Steve worked for the Minnesota Department of Agriculture in Ag Planning and Development. He was a staff person working with the Feedlot and Manure Management Committee (FMMAC) and co-chaired the FMMAC Livestock Odor Task Force.

Steve is a graduate of the MN Ag & Rural Leadership (MARL) program and actively supports youth career development and leadership as a member of the FFA Alumni serving on boards at the local, state and national level.

Anna-BoroffAnna Boroff is the Senior Public Policy Director at the Minnesota Corn Growers Association (MCGA). She coordinates government relations activities at MCGA, both state and federal. Anna facilitates grower leaders in the policy development process, in setting policy priorities for the organization, and does as much outreach as possible across the state talking policy as it relates to agriculture and rural Minnesota.

Prior to joining MCGA, Anna spent close to ten years at the Minnesota Legislature. Starting as an intern, Anna worked her way through the staff ranks, most recently as leadership staff for the House Majority Leader from 2010-2012.

Anna is a graduate of MARL Class VIII, the Minnesota Agriculture and Rural Leadership Program, a two-year leadership development program held all over the state for active and engaged adult agriculture and rural leaders.